I Hate Grocery Shopping


Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang

Being a homebody, I can’t really think of anything I detest doing.

When the kids attended school, one thing I hated doing was to make their lunches. One liked cheese, the other didn’t. One liked salami, the other didn’t. One liked mustard, and of course, the others didn’t. It finally got to the point, when they got older, I decided that they had to make their own lunches.

One thing about living out in the country, you don’t always have everything on hand. We used to be able to have peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, but now with the plague of allergies, that has come to a halt.

The thought just jumped out at me. I hate grocery shopping. Looking at every label to see what the product contains is time consuming, and I would much rather be doing anything else. I don’t like shopping if I’m hungry, because then everything I shouldn’t buy seems to end up in the basket. When it comes down to pay, I am horrified. Didn’t buy meat, so what cost so much.

I usually wait until I’m out of almost everything before I finally make my way out the door. It wasn’t always like that. I used to love shopping for groceries, clothes, and all the other things one thinks they absolutely require. Now it’s plain drudgery.

I garden, pick berries, and can. I have enough potatoes, canned tomatoes, salsa, peas, beans, usually corn (unless the racoons get to my crop), beets, onions, peppers, carrots, pickles, and maybe something else I have forgotten, so I only need to buy milk, yogurt, and eggs. I haven’t had to buy eggs the last couple of years because I had my own laying chickens. When I’m in the mood, I make my own bread and buns. I don’t bake much anymore to keep down my cholesterol, but once in a while I whip up a batch of cinnamon buns. My motto is: if it’s in the house, I’ll eat it.  So don’t be too careless. Eat what is available, and stretch the dollar.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/01/prompt-chain-gang/

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Blank Page: Haiku | 365 days of defiance
  2. Treasure From The Future & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  3. Is School Useful ? | Knowledge Addiction
  4. Enough | Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang | likereadingontrains
  5. Back on the Chain Gang | Life Confusions
  6. DP Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang | Sabethville
  7. Picking up the dog’s turds! | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  8. Duty | dandelionsinwind
  9. Daily Prompt: Daily Chores | The Road Less Travelled By
  10. Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang- Psychology behind our habit | Journeyman
  11. Driving Me Crazy | Under the Monkey Tree
  12. Déjà Vu and the Daily Prompt | My Author-itis
  13. Fort Lincoln at Point Lookout | Exploratorius
  14. It’s Laundry Day! | As Twisted as Fretzels
  15. Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang | Indira’s Blog
  16. Sheen’s Laments | Flowers and Breezes
  17. eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  18. Chain gang | Sue’s Trifles
  19. Daily Prompt: Back On The Chain Gang | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang « Mama Bear Musings
  21. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | Duty
  22. Daily Prompt: Duty | That Montreal Girl
  23. Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  24. Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang | The Wandering Poet
  25. Laundry: It’s what’s looming in my life | In For the Ride
  26. Irresponsible except for everything | Navigate
  27. Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang | An Ordinary View
  28. 271. The Office | Barely Right of Center
  29. That is for example | Mindful Digressions
  30. Least Favorite Passion – Technical Reports | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  31. RFPs | Mindful Digressions
  32. I don’t mind chores! (Total lie – you should see my room) | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  33. Fighting Entropy | Green Embers
  34. Rite of labour | shame
  35. Wishy Washy Time | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  36. Five Random Housecleaning Links
  37. PERMANENT K. P. | SERENDIPITY
  38. Daily Cooking | Emovere
  39. The Worst Jobs | Kate Murray
  40. I Hate Trash Night | theeyelife
  41. Laundering Clothing | djgarcia94

8 thoughts

  1. You grow an impressive variety of veggies! We grow veggies (not as many as you) and have our own chickens too. Aren’t fresh eggs lovely? During the summer I love to base dinner around what we have growing in the veg boxes. It’s a great way to eat. If I get the munchies, we’ll bake a load of buns rather than make a half round trip to the shops. :0)

    • I love the fresh veggies. Nothing like them. Don’t have chickens right now. My neighbours complained to the municipality about my four rooster crowing at all hours of the night. I needed a break anyway, because my mom needed me more. I hope to get more in the spring.

  2. I love that you can grow so many different kinds of vegetables, I wish i could do that,our weather is too cold,so there is very little time to grow the vegetables I like, I then have to buy from the supermarket.
    I agree if it’s in the house I’ll eat it. I’ve stopped baking if I bake I’ll eat,no baking for me either.

  3. Pingback: It’s A Dirty Job… | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: The Most Boring Things I Have Done in My Life | Thinking Diagonally

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Back On The Chain Gang | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Oh, how it casts me down! Task misery… | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Back on the Chain Gang | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Thank you for sharing your thoughts