She Was Just Seventeen


Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me
by Krista on March 2, 2014
A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us PAST.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhllDK6C6eQ&w=420&h=315%5D

I remember the first night I heard this song on my Transistor Radio. Guess what? I was just seventeen. Hard to believe now that I had ever been seventeen at one time, but Yeah, I was just seventeen when this song made the Top Ten Hits.

It felt great. The song spoke volumes to me. The dances came into plain view, where he would cross that room and my heart went boom, and he held his hand in mine. How could I ever forget the thrill?

Silly of me, I know. An old hag like me basking in that memory today. The only reason is because of this prompt. Otherwise, I have much more serious things on my mind.
Things that are heart-breaking and tearing my soul apart. But for a moment, I will let reality take a break because I might drive myself insane and everybody else who knows me.

Yes, it went just as the song says. Sixteen was the best year of my life, actually. Already by seventeen, the happy days were already just memories. So when the song broke out, I could only reminisce. The awesome times had already slid away, though I still had hope in my heart and soul. But the words of this song, mean a great deal to me, even though it is so distantly removed. I remember the feeling like the song says, and I remember the awkwardness of somebody crossing the room, and wondering who he was going to ask to dance. When he came to me, my heart stood still. I couldn’t believe it. Me! Of all the others he could have asked, it was little ole me.

He didn’t seem embarrassed. We were the only ones on the dance floor. I word blue jeans and a white men’s shirt that hung over my jeans. And of course, Pat Boone loafers. My hair was dark brown and a little longer than shoulder length, and I always wore bangs back then. He was the coolest fellow I thought, at the time. And I was in love.

Sad to say, it didn’t last. Life is like that, isn’t it? I didn’t have a hope and I knew it. Reminds me of Gone With the Wind. Reminds me of how Rhett Butler loved Scarlett O’hara so much, but she didn’t realize she loved him until he finally left her. And it was too late.

Too late. Time brushes aside and a new chapter unravels. The number of chapters in life is for only God to decide. I’m getting to the end of my chapters. No more love affairs, no more casual acquaintances to spike the old heart to thump in rapid motion. Nothing left to hope for, or rather care to hope for, I should say.

Time has a way of sliding away into a pool of wastes. Memories spring up and dusts off the heavy-laden soul with some heart-booming times. Thank God for Memories.

</p>

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/prompt-remind-me/

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

1936 – Bentley Drophead | Crazy Markovich
A beat is missing | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
Tana deem, ta nana, na na, na na, tana deem (sparks) | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
The Mirror: Tanka | 365 days of defiance
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me -Psychologycal Side of Recalling Memories | Journeyman
Craters of the Moon | Exploratorius
Dr Martens! An update! | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
Daily Prompt: Past « Vicariously Poetic
The past was once the future | The Ambitious Drifter
The Idyllic Place & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
November Rain | Knowledge Addiction
A Barenaked Summer | Musings | WANGSGARD
Music is all around us, all you have to do is listen. | A Voice for Science.
DP Daily Prompt: Always something there to remind Me | Sabethville
(Almost) A Song for Everything | Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | likereadingontrains
That moment | Kate Murray
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Awl and Scribe
IT TAKES ME BACK. | Dreams to Reality !
Musical Memories – Boy’s of Summer | Unload and Unwind
This is always my go to place when I’m in a mood. Which is often. | thoughtsofrkh
The River of Life. | Whispered Words
Always something there to remind me | Sue’s Trifles
Cretan Folk Music and Ali’s fall! | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
Oscar Songs on my Female Mind: I’ve had the time of my life and Let it go « psychologistmimi
I Won’t Give Up | Flowers and Breezes
Don’t Panic – It’s Only Love | snapshotsofawanderingheart
Daily Prompt: Songs and memories | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
Still searching…! | juimkul
Memories | A mom’s blog
Always Something There To Remind Me | Trailer Trash Design | U.S.A.
Daily Prompt: High Water Everywhere | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | snippets and words
classic blotto | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
When People Randomly Break Into Song « Scraps, Drafts and Fragments
We Weren’t Lovers, Just Brave Strangers (B. Seger) | meanderedwanderings
A Dream Chaser, A Love “Echo” | From Hiding to Blogging
Today sparrows | shame
Valentine’s Challenge | Mila’s Misadventures
Daily Prompt: Always Something There To Remind Me « Mama Bear Musings
Back to the Mystic | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | The Paperback Chronicles
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Of Glass & Paper
Daily Prompt: Always something there to remind me | The River Mom
Musical memories – Cassandra Wilson´s Time After Time | mamangerie
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Basically Beyond Basic
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
The ‘Super’ 70′s. That kind of music just soothes the soul. | A Wiser Fella Than Myself Once Said…
Daily Prompt: Past | The Wandering Poet
in you (the past lingers in the lyrics) | peacefulblessedstar
Thank God For The Radio | Goodnight Hestia
Playing The Role of Someone In Control | A Sober Head Full Of Confusion
The Surfs of Yesteryear | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
The Surfs of Yesteryear | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
Kolejny, drugi post | Lepsze Katowice
That song on the radio | THECHOCOLATEYDAYS
Drops of Sorrow | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
DP: THAT SONG! | Scorched Ice
“Always something there to remind me” | Relax
Remembering You… | Life Confusions
Daily Prompt: Past – Glimpse of the 60′s | Different Isn’t Wrong, It’s Just Different
Daily Prompt: Songs « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
Life Will Be As It Should….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
Song of India | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
You’re my An, an, an angel | JED’s Playhouse
My musical memory set list (Volume one) | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
San Jacinto | My Days In A Song
Mulligan Stew | The Zombies Ate My Brains
This Used To Be My Playground… | Steve Says…
Torturing the Underclassmen (Daily Prompt) | Thinking Diagonally
Daily Prompt: Tonight Is The Night…And I’m Feeling Alright | Morrighan’s Muse
That Reminds Me of a Song | My Author-itis
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Diary of Dennis
Always Something There to Remind Me – The First Lady in Red | Cancer Isn’t Pink
Heading Back from the House in New Orleans | Touching the Mirage
Bridge Over Troubled Water | Mindful Digressions
“Always Something There to Remind Me” | Quando Porci Volare
Daily Prompt: Being Reminded! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
Disturbed – Deify | Views Splash!
The Carpenters | Emovere
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Loin de zanzibar
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Life After 50
She fainted in “The Boulevard of Broken Dreams” | So Not Simple
Into the Woods | Love in the Spaces
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | A Simple, Summer Afternoon | undefined by design
Round Round Get Around I Get Around | Piping Up
Music Memories: Something There To Remind Me… | Mirth and Motivation
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me – Dirty Old Town, the Pogues | Just Be V
Bluer Than Blue | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
Memory Remix | djgarcia94
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me – Katie Melua – The Closest Thing to Crazy/Tiger in the Night | Just Be V
Daily Prompt: The Glory of Love | consciouscacophony
Memories | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
Head Over Feet | missmoodygirl
Childhood Taste | Scent of Rina
Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
Diggin’ a Ditch: Dave Matthew’s Band: Memories. | RosieHearted
Songs of our time | Living Little
Steamrolled. | Forlorn Hope: A Diary Of A Broken Heart
Middle School Naivety | Embracing the Journey

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/prompt-remind-me/

6 thoughts

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Always Something There To Remind Me | Alexia Jones

  3. Pingback: of leaving | Anawnimiss

  4. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Abstract Alliterative Acrostalyptica” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  5. Oh that song was one of my favorites 🙂 I couldn’t get enough of The Beatles. I listened to them on my brown transistor radio and the very first album I ever bought was The Beatles. I played it over and over on a blue and white portable record player.
    Listening to the song again still pleases me. Those were really good times. Thanks for the little trip down memory lane 🙂

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

