1946


77B8AF09 145x262.jpg

Photo’s of myself when I was a youngster are far and between. This is one taken either coming home from Church or leaving for Church. July 14th, 1946 I was born. It happened to fall on my maternal grandmother’s birthday, therefore as I grew, we did celebrate our birthdays together whenever possible. It was only eighteen miles to the lake where she lived, but the one vehicle we had was meant to use to go to work.

It is my goal to try and learn to post old photos to my blog for safe keeping. Many pictures have been lost in fires, and damp attics.

I think I was two here, but I might be wrong. We certainly didn’t live in prosperous times. The second world war ended the year I was conceived. So glad my mother didn’t abort me. When I look at this picture, I see a little girl I would like to pick up into my arms and give her a big hug like I do with my little granddaughters. To me she looks like she could use a hug.

17 thoughts

  1. I’d scooper her up and give her a big hug, too. 🙂 What a beautiful little girl and what a great smile!

    • We were poor as you can see, but I think everyone was in those days. I remember mum talking about rationing milk and other essentials. But I am glad I lived at that time. I am 68 today. Never thought I would live to be this old. Hugs and thank you for all your support. 🙂

    • Thank you Carol. I appreciate your kind words. Now all I have to do is find some that are clear enough to post. And I need to learn how to transfer the pics to my computer. I’ve done it before, but I seem to have forgotten. Thanks for keeping up with my blog. I know you have many sites to look at and comment on but I really am happy you have chosen me to keep on your list. Hugs and have a marvellous weekend. 🙂

      • Happy Friday, Drrew.
        As for your photos you can scan them unto your computer. See if your printer has a scanner and read the manual. It’s really simple.
        Thank you for your very kind words. I truly appreciate going on your site, knowing that I’m going to find another jewel.
        Have a great weekend. 🙂

  2. So cute! Always easier to read a picture years after it’s taken. 🙂 (PS tried to like your last 2 posts and it wouldn’t allow me 😦

  3. I love old photos! Nice smile on your face….sending a virtual hug. 🙂
    I don’t have very many old photos of myself, but I cherish the ones that I do have. I was born in the early 50s…one day after my maternal grandmother was born (many years, earlier of course). Although we didn’t have the opportunity to celebrate our birthdays together, it was easy to remember each other!
    Like you, I would like to post as many photos as I can on the internet–for safe keeping. I lost quite a few, about 6 years ago, when my computer crashed. No backup!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

