First Day of a Manitoba Summer


_DSC0194.jpgWild Roses are romantic and the dried scented petals fill undergarment drawers even today.
Image

Good old summer time

Image

 Let’s have some fun. Four-wheeling through the soft sand would be somewhat like snowmobiling in snow. I think!!

Image

Blueberry Country. Yes, black bear country too. I’ve met up with a few in my time.

Image

 Wildflowers are strewn across ditches, meadows and fields. Some varieties are becoming extinct.

Image

Lazy, hazy summer day! Mosquitoes are dreadful this year. Must wear some form of protection.

Image

There is a good crop of these golden wildflowers. The colour is even more beautiful in the early evening.

Image

19 thoughts

    • Thank you, Sue. The one by the river turned out perfect to my eyes. The sun’s effect on the water was a new experience for me. Appreciate you stopping by. 🙂

      • I was actually shocked when I say that photo. I took it quickly and never really paid attention because I was on a busier road then the other photos. Nice surprise! 🙂

    • Hi Lucy,
      I usually don’t accept Awards because I find people don’t like to take part. But in this case, I am willing to take a go at it once again. I will respond in another comment. Not sure if that’s what I have to do. I am so tired at the moment, I can hardly think.

      • Ok. I know some people don’t like awards. I suppose you could nominate less than 10. Look forward to your song! There’s no rush. Have a great day!

      • Thanks Lucy. I should have a day off if I don’t get it done tonight. I cut grass all day on a riding mower and the fresh air makes me so tired.

  1. You have such a creative spirit, Drew. Your photographs are incredible the way you catch the detail and light. What kind of camera do you use?

    • I use a Nikon D90. I have a few lenses but sometimes I find the time of day makes quite a difference. The photos I posted for the 1st day of summer were taken when the sun was going down and the colours came out so nice. Appreciate your lovely comments.

  2. Wonderful set of photos of summer, drew. I enjoy seeing how gorgeous your part of the world looks! I like the new look of your site too 🙂 .

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

