A Little Good News … A Lot of Bad


Winter arrived around November 1st and hung around until April 30th, 2014 with tons of snow piled everywhere and the ice age returning. According to the weatherman, this winter has been the coldest winter in over a hundred years. Coldest winter (December-February) on record: 1874-75, -23 C Winnipeg Sun

Two days ago, we owned two female one-year-old cats. All winter long, strays have been sitting on the deck snagging every bit of morsels left over. We chased them away hoping they would go home, only to realize they were indeed, HOMELESS. They snuggled in our garage with our two females in the attic amongst the pink insulation. We have a workshop (now storage) that has been entirely insulated and is heated.

Needless to say, our females are going to have kittens. Yesterday, my daughter picked up the cutest little six-week old Chihuahua puppy. It equals in weight to a pound of butter. Tonight, my son-in-law picked up a part Husky, part German shepherd, and part Lab. He, too, is very cute, and only about three months old. I think he will be a great Buddy for my grandson. Children need pets, I believe.

Things change quickly in this household. One minute you are thinking, I should get a few chickens to raise for my own eggs. You see, I had a hundred chickens a year ago, but the LGD decided to ban farm animals in our small towns. Well, lo and behold, I was the only one who got rid of my chickens, while the others decided to ignore the Council. I would only get enough for my own use, but I am double thinking that now.

I don’t want to fight Council, but I think they are ignorant. We live in an area where if you’d blink when driving through, you’d miss the town. Now come on! My daughter lives on the outskirts of the city, and she is allowed to have chickens. The neighbours have horses, cows and chickens. I just don’t understand how some people can be so ridiculous. But we can have hog factories twenty to thirty miles away, polluting our water supply and stinking up the entire area. Nothing wrong with farm animals, but factories is a different story.

This is difficult to watch. Beware!

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fg4Ha7gMENM?rel=0&w=420&h=315%5D

This is turning into a newsy rant. I own ten acres of land. My home happens to be right on the outskirts of a very small village. I will just try to wrap this up by concluding my rants.

Rant Number 1: Coldest winter in over a hundred years. And longest one, I might add. Nobody can do anything about that.

Rant Number 2: Can’t have chickens, but cats particularly are left on the streets. I wish people would take care of their animals. Get them neutered, and if you can’t take care of them, bring them to a shelter.

Rant Number 3: Farm animals should be allowed in small numbers in tiny villages with less than a thousand residents. The cost of living is getting so high, my little pension hardly allows me to buy groceries, so in order to cope, it’s a must to have a large garden and put up produce for the winter months. Otherwise, I would have to sell my home.

Rant Number 4: Farm factories are places of animal cruelty. Just look it up on You Tube. Or are you, too emotional when you see how chickens are sitting in a cage too small to turn around, their claws stuck in the wire flooring.

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”//www.youtube.com/embed/aHxRdOC51SA?rel=0″ frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

The good news is that we have acquired a few pets for the children. That is why they moved out here; to be in the country and be free to enjoy nature. I only hope they have better luck than I had. I lost my most awesome and beautiful Husky three years ago. Some say it might have been a pack of wolves. Others say, he might have jumped into a vehicle. He loved car rides.  It broke my heart to lose him; his demeanour striking.

I am not promoting ‘the don’t eat meat campaign’.  Animal cruelty is the just of these videos.

6 thoughts

  1. I confess I coudn’t actually watch the video. I was a vegetarian for 6 years. Now I try to eat organic. I don’t understand why you aren’t allowed chickens when you live in a rural location. Only a rooster makes a bit of noise. You’d hardly notice a few chickens..

    • It was the roosters that got me in trouble. I guess I should have taken that matter in my hands earlier on, but I waited a bit too long. Anyway, I do have a lot of room for animals and they are treated well. What is it like being a vegetarian? My daughter’s blood level is reportedly low, and she must eat meat to build it up. I know beans, peanuts and other things help, but meat is the big one, I thought.

    • Also, when I visited Hampshire five years ago, the lady I stayed with had both roosters and hens as she bred them and put the eggs in incubators. Neighbours right next door and no complaining. I thought that was very neighbourly.

  2. I couldn’t watch the video either! I’m a wimp when it comes to watching cruelty to animals of any kind. And whatever you don’t do it front of me because then I become a momma bear! I think you have valid rants…btw!

  3. I’d love it if my neighbors had chickens. I’d feel like American Midwesterners used to feel before the feds had to go and ruin everything with their highways and fancy automobiles. I live in a small apartment, though, so if my neighbors did have a rooster that thing would blast me out of bed every morning.

    • Yes, I read that farm animals will be banned in some States altogether. Isn’t it sad how the government in both of our countries are trying to run us neck and toe.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

