Heart Poured Out


“A friend is one to whom one may pour out the contents of one’s heart, chaff and grain together, knowing that gentle hands will take and sift it, keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of kindness, blow the rest away. ” — George Eliot

11 thoughts

  1. That’s the whole struggle right there, being that kind of friend. It takes a sacrificial spirit, no doubt. Without the Lord, impossible. Wonderful quote.

  2. I keep thinking about this quote whenever I’m called to be a friend to someone. It’s super inspiring and helpful. I’ve been meaning to look up George Eliot, too. I’d never heard of him before I read this.

    • George Elliot is a woman writer of the 18th century when women were not published under a woman’s name. One of her books is Middlemarch. Kind of an old school type of book, but for some of us, it is quite enjoyable.

    • Sorry to hear that. I am a year older than you. I was born in ’46. My 44 year old daughter just had a double mastectomy. Today she is seeing the oncologist. Chemo is the next step. Poor girl!
      Have a nice day and thanks for dropping by.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

